Kong: Skull Island is an upcoming American monster film directed by Jordan Vogt-Roberts and written by Dan Gilroy and Max Borenstein, from a story by John Gatins and Gilroy. The film is a reboot of the King Kong franchise and will serve as the second film in Legendary's MonsterVerse, as well as a prequel to the 2014 film Godzilla. It stars an ensemble cast consisting of Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman, Brie Larson, Jing Tian, Toby Kebbell, John Ortiz, Corey Hawkins, Jason Mitchell, Shea Whigham, Thomas Mann, Terry Notary, and John C. Reilly. Principal photography began on October 19, 2015, in Hawaii. Kong: Skull Island is scheduled to be released in the United States on March 10, 2017, in 2D, 3D, IMAX 3D and in Dolby Cinemas.


Directed by

  • Jordan Vogt-Roberts

Produced by

  • Thomas Tull
  • Jon Jashni
  • Mary Parent
  • Alex Garcia

Screenplay by

  • Dan Gilroy
  • Max Borenstein

Story by

  • John Gatins
  • Dan Gilroy

Based on

  • King Kong by Merian C. Cooper
  • Edgar Wallace

Music by

  • Henry Jackman


  • Larry Fong

Edited by

  • Richard Pearson

Production company

  • Legendary Pictures
  • Tencent Pictures

Distributed by

  • Warner Bros. Pictures

Release date

  • March 10, 2017 (United States)

Running time

  • 118 minutes 


  • United States


  • English


  • $190 million



Tom Hiddleston

Samuel L. Jackson

John Goodman

Brie Larson

Jing Tian

Toby Kebbell

John Ortiz

Corey Hawkins

Jason Mitchell

Shea Whigham

Thomas Mann

Terry Notary

John C. Reilly